~Apple Improves iPhone, Update Communication

Here’s a quick post to let you know that the iPhone 2.1 update was released late yesterday.  Not only has this update improved the iPhone user experience (according to blog posts just now coming in) but Apple has learned something about communicating with iPhone users.

Included in the update was the following detailed list of fixes and improvements, instead of the general  “bug fixes” statement included in previous updates.

  • Decrease in call set-up failures and dropped calls
  • Significantly better battery life for most users
  • Dramatically reduced time to backup to iTunes
  • Improved email reliability, notably fetching email from POP and Exchange accounts
  • Faster installation of 3rd party applications
  • Fixed bugs causing hangs and crashes for users with lots of third party applications
  • Improved performance in text messaging
  • Faster loading and searching of contacts
  • Improved accuracy of the 3G signal strength display
  • Repeat alert up to two additional times for incoming text messages
  • Option to wipe data after ten failed passcode attempts
  • Genius playlist creation

[Late Update – I just discovered an undocumented and important fix included in the new release, at least its not included in the published list. When you update an application, after installation, your icon is returned to its previous homepage and position. Hooray, no more time consuming reorganizing icons after each update.]

Apple even went one better and immediately posted this list on their website along with detailed instructions for installation.  Although folks that have updated their iPhone before won’t need these instructions (nothing has changed in updates) it shows great support for the new user.  

And they even included a link to why you would want to upgrade from 1.0, a nice marketing presentation for those that are still at 1.0.  Is there anyone still at 1.0?

One closing caveat.  This update takes considerable time, so be patient and just let it work its magic.  John

2 thoughts on “~Apple Improves iPhone, Update Communication

  1. Andre Gayle says:

    thanks for this info. i have just recently upgraded to the iphone 3g and the first time i connected it to my computer it updated the software automtically so i have no reference to base an opinion on about the improvements. I am, however, thinking about sending the phone back due to the missing SMS and ridiculously limited Bluetooth capability. People say I should have checked but to me these are basic phone functions and in a top of the range phone checking to see if they were there would have been like checking to see if it has vibrate.

    I understand Apple are looking to the future as far as picture messaging technology but it would be like them releasing the next Mac without USB ports because peripherals now have wireless capability. it may be true but why swop one for the other and frustrate the vast majority of your customer base? why not have both until the time one method becomes obselete and keep everybody happy?

    Try as I might I cannot get any sort of definitive answer as to whether Apple are even considering updating the software to include SMS and/or Bluetooth that isn’t limited to just an earpiece. Like most iPhone users, I don’t want to have to run seminars to teach the entire population how to set up email user accounts on their phones and use that to send and receive pictures and clips instead.

    Do you have any insights I could make an informed decision on…..?

    Thanks

  2. Andre – thanks for the comments. I think you mean MMS, which the iPhone does not currently have, not SMS, which work great on the iPhone. I agree that sending pics via text messaging is important and a very common feature used by most cell phone users. I am different, “older”, “old”? So I don’t use text messaging at all, except to receive reminders and appointment alarms. So for me, click on email the pic works great for sending photos from my iPhone. I don’t think many people who have an iPhone wouldn’t set up email though, seems like that is a very major feature. But I do understand that today’s masses use texting much more than email.

    And Bluetooth is also a sore spot. I know that I don’t wear the wired buds in public, but I might wear bluetooth if I could also listen to my tunes through it. And copy/paste is probably the biggest and most surprising deficiency. Having said all this, I would not trade the last year with the iPhone for anything. I no longer use a laptop, and I have access to literally everything at all times. I hope you checked out the Day with the iPhone post, it will give you lots of ideas on how you can use your iPhone, and that was written before the app store! Good luck, John

Leave a Reply

