~Pictorial Tour of iNozbe for iPhone

So we’ve covered quite a bit of territory in our Nozbe tour, but what if you could take your GTD with you wherever you go. Well, you can with iNozbe, the companion to Nozbe, and together I believe they make the greatest GTD implementation available.

iNozbe

I get really excited about iNozbe because I can review my Next Actions, add tasks and projects, or even conduct a weekly review right on my iPhone. This is both a time and stress saver, because I am always connected to my GTD.

And there’s lots more, just about every feature included in Nozbe is supported in iNozbe. So let’s begin our tour.

Login

Why show the login screen? Well, to show one very important feature for the iPhone. The convenient “Log me in automatically on this computer” is a most welcome feature. I never have to enter my credentials to get to my GTD.

iNozbe Login
iNozbe Login

The Main Screen

The first screen presented after logging into iNozbe provides access to your GTD screens, Next Actions, Projects and Contexts. In addition, you can access screens to add actions, projects and contexts.

iNozbe Main Screen on iPhone
iNozbe Main Screen on iPhone

Next Actions

The Next Actions screen in iNozbe provides all of the features of Nozbe. You can view and edit any of your next actions, including the action text, date, context and project assignment. You can even filter the list by tag or context, or check the box to “show only 1 unfinished action per project” just like in the Nozbe application.

I discussed filtering between the desktop and iPhone web clients in more detail in a post entitled, Nozbe Remembers.

iNozbe Next Actions
iNozbe Next Actions

Edit An Action

Edit an Action in iNozbe
Edit an Action in iNozbe

Projects

The project screen contains a scrolling list of all your active projects. Click on a project and it opens to display its actions. Any action can then be edited in the same way as on the Next Actions screen.

iNozbe Projects
iNozbe Projects

Project Actions

Action List for a Project
Action List for a Project

Viewing Project Notes

You can view the notes you saved with your project, and even create new notes.

Viewing Project Notes
Viewing Project Notes

Adding an Action

Add an Action
Add an Action

Contexts

You have access to all of your contexts in iNozbe, including an identifier showing how many tasks are contained in each context. Click on a context, and you see the context with all of its associated actions.

iNozbe Context List
iNozbe Context List

Context Actions

Action List in Context
Action List in Context

Adding a New Context

Adding a Context in iNozbe
Adding a Context in iNozbe

Well that about wraps it up for iNozbe, the perfect GTD for the iPhone, allowing you to get things done while on the go.  Next post, we’ll finish up the tour with some extras.  Until then, thanks for reading, John.

7 thoughts on “~Pictorial Tour of iNozbe for iPhone

  1. [Moved from another post at the request of author]

    Hi John,

    This was another nice overview.

    I must say, though, that the lack of a dedicated Nozbe iphone application makes it difficult for me to commit 100% to this product. While i appreciate that the Nozbe development team are working hard to improve it, with competitors like Toodledo and Remember the Milk now both having slick iPhone apps i wonder how much potential business Nozbe is losing keeping with this web-based approach.

    Perhaps in Europe and the US this isn’t a concern, but here in Australia our 3G speeds can be pretty average. In practice this means that it can often take 15-20 seconds for the iNozbe page to load – which is a frustration when trying to use it as a ‘ubiquitous capture device.’

    Having said that, i think that the overall design of Nozbe positions it as one of the best web-based GTD programs out there. Maybe i’m just impatient for a great program to become an outstanding one!

    And thanks again for your work in putting this tour together. I hope Michael links to it on the Nozbe home page. It is a great introduction to the product.

    chris.

  2. Chris – thanks for the comment and I appreciate your need for a native app. I have it on very good information that the Nozbe app will be released very soon. I am expecting it before the Nozbe redesign is made public.

    And you are correct, here in the states, at least in my area between two very large cities, I have very good 3G service, so my Nozbe screens load on my iphone quickly enough for my purposes.

    I am not sure that I will like the syncing bit myself, as I move between the iPhone and my Mac at home and Windows machine at work frequently everyday. Unless it has over the air syncing, I think iNozbe will work better for me than the native app. But we’ll have to wait and see on that one. John

  3. Shasta says:

    Due to your recommendations, I’ve signed up for a Nozbe account (a free one, just to check it out) but I cannot see using it regularly (i.e. paying for one) unless eventually I have something that I can use on my Blackberry. The RIM product is the one that my work supports and has a server for. Do you have any idea whether or not there is any kind of general smartphone app in the works?

    My key is that I have to have a system that will work for me whether I’m at home or at work or mobile. The latter is becoming more and more important.

    Thanks for this series btw. I’m getting a lot out of it that applies generally.

  4. chris says:

    Hi John,

    That’s great news about the native Nozbe iphone app. I seem to recall seeing a screenshot of a mock-up version of it somewhere on the Nozbe forum but wasn’t aware that it was coming soon.

    And I take your point about syncing remaining the next major hurdle. Like you, I have a Mac at home, a PC at work (and an iPhone pretty much everywhere) and it’s unfortunate that many of my favourite apps don’t play all that well together. While I was a little sceptical at first anyway about storing and accessing my working data online or via some type of ‘cloud’, applications like Evernote show the amazing potential of this model. It’s a great time to be watching this software evolve.

    chris.

  5. I will definitely be posting information here on the blog when the new native app is released and I’ve had a few days to try it out. And I share your concern about storing my GTD on non-local servers and as such made sure that I purchased a plan with SSL encryption – and I have that enabled for my Nozbe Plus account. John

  6. Shasta – Thanks for your comments, and for reading the blog. I am glad to hear that you’ve found some helpful information here. And I agree, having a GTD that you can have with you all the time is a great advantage.

    I checked with the creator of Nozbe and here is his answer to your question regarding RIM (Blackberry) use of Nozbe.

    RIM users have so far used the nozbe.mobi interface and we’ll be
    updating this interface so that people can use it even better. However
    we’ll be working on making the mobi interface better once we have the
    iPhone app out, so probably later this December. The mobi interface is
    very usable now, just doesn’t have as many features as the iNozbe
    interface. Hope it helps.

    John

Leave a Reply

